9 Comments
author

When I looked into this quote by Lewis, I got the sense he was, in a way, describing joy. We often associate joy with a feeling of happiness, but Lewis here shows it as a place of wholeness and completion, how things are supposed to be, the culmination and satisfying of our longing.

So, when I think of heaven as a place where longing is fulfilled, it creates in me a sense of hope. And hope in the immediate, not just for the eschaton. Hope is nothing if it doesn't fuel our sense of being and acting in the world right now.

And this is what I think the world needs right now. People filled with joy. Not shiny happy people, as it were. But people with their eyes on a place of completion, who are willing to do the work of joy in the here and now.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2021Liked by Timothy Willard

I believe the Christian is in a bit of a predicament in this world. We are pilgrims longing for our true home, yet firmly rooted in Babylon. God is simultaneously calling us home AND encouraging us to work for the prosperity of the cities in which we are currently planted.

This quote reminds me that I can inhabit both at the same time and, in fact, I do. God is calling me home AND commanding me to manifest His country, His kingdom wherever I find myself.

We are to live now as we will live forever, for eternity. When we do, we have “come home at last,” regardless of where we currently reside on the planet. When we do, we bring Heaven to earth, Heaven culture to Babylon.

Expand full comment
Jan 26, 2021Liked by Timothy Willard

I love this - and completely agree. You're describing shalom!

If I'm honest, I allow my efforts to "stay current" with news to derail me too many times.

(Cue choir humming "People Get Ready"....) But I want to stay on Jesus' Shalom Train both here and now and for all eternity.

Expand full comment